Author Interview Series One – D. Drache Dragao

author image 01

D. Drache Dragao

BIO

I’m Drache. I was born in the Gateway City in the Show-Me-State in July of 1987 (damn, I feel old). I’m a sucker for martial arts, though my first love was baseball. The first time I tried to get involved with politics was in second grade competing with a fourth grader and it was a school election; I lost and I didn’t take it well. But, let’s talk about me as a writer. I’m of the belief that writing should reflect both the (wo)man and his/her world, so my content has similarities to my experiences, lifetime thus far, and interactions. As far as my writing goes, see my statement about how writing should reflect the (wo)man and his/her world. In other words, art imitates life and that’s a belief that many share.

INTERVIEW

Everyone, please give a warm welcome to D. Drache Dragao. Don’t forget to comment below before you leave.

Do you wear boxers or briefs?

Boxers and boxers briefs.

Are you a morning person or a night person?

I’m a night person. I’m a slow starter in the mornings, but I work on Sunday mornings.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing for the hell of it since I was like nine and got into fanfiction when I was nineteen. It’s one of many things that get me through life.

Are you an independently published writer
or a traditionally published writer?

Independently published and proud.

What prepared you for becoming a writer?

My seventh grade principal. She hated me and wanted me out of school so badly to the point she was practically thrilled when I got in trouble, so when I lost a notebook with a piece of writing I was doing that was turned into her by my equally malevolent then-Spanish teacher, she almost had her excuse to get me tossed because of the violent content and called me a “menace” to the school. So, when I made the decision to become published in 2011, I held on to that memory real tight and pushed forward. So, Ms. Kelly, wherever you are: if you’re reading this, thank you for hating me! Thank you for making that decision to suspend me for not acting on my violent urges. Here’s to your petty ass.

Is your book born purely of imagination?

Most of it is. The rest is based on the argument of mixed martial arts versus boxing and the world around me personally.

If you were a cookie, which would you be?

Mint chocolate chip.

Tell me how many hats you have in your house?

I have about anywhere between 25-75 hats in my house from the wall in my bedroom to my closet.

If given complete freedom to start afresh,
what profession would you choose and why?

I’d most likely be a competitive professional chef traveling around the world with a restaurant back home that would cater to readers and authors.

Do you know how to drop an egg onto
a concrete floor without cracking it?

You can’t crack a concrete floor with an egg.

Who is your favorite character?

Elijah. I wanted to take a new approach to public figures coming out and do something that had never been done before. Note that this was before Fallon Fox came out as a transgender woman.

Where do you think you are in your writing career?
Where do you want to be?

Still discovering myself as a writer. Where do I want to be? I’d really like to be a USA Today or New York Times bestseller, not for the money but because it means that I’m achieving something and reaching all kind of people.

What is something you’d like the reader
to know about you or your writing?

I don’t back down from certain subject matters, especially when it comes to LGBT. This doesn’t mean that I exclusively write within these parameters or do it to prove a point, I just don’t hold back because if art doesn’t reflect all life, then what can it reflect?

What do you like to read? What kind music do you prefer?

I like to read revenge thrillers and my listening preferences changes with the genre of writing I do or the scene I’m writing.

 

Thank you, D. Drache Dragao, for being here today. It’s been great having you. All the best on your writing.

.::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::.

D. Drache Dragao’S The WElter Wars

book cover dddragao

The boxer: The king at 147 pounds, Michael Bennett, is brash and cocky but has the ability to back up his mouth in the ring. But why won’t he defend his words in the sport he constantly runs down? Surely he isn’t afraid of men who can come in off the street and fight in uncivilized settings like a cage.

The mixed martial artist: Elijah Moore, the greatest welterweight in the history of the fastest rising sport, comes from a more humble background. His life outside of the cage is driven by the memory of his beloved. He has a secret that needs to come off of his chest and unwaveringly stares hate and intolerance in the eye to bare himself to the world.

It’s not common knowledge that there’s no love lost between Elijah and Michael, but their accolades and their personal battles set the stage for an inevitable war that will answer the question: which is the superior combat sport?

for sale banner 01 C

.::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::. .::.

D. DRACHE DRAGAO’S LINKS

Buy Links

 Amazon … Barnes & Noble … Smashwords

 Contact Links

EMail … Facebook … Twitter … Website

3 thoughts on “Author Interview Series One – D. Drache Dragao

  1. […] The Welter War D. Drache Dragao Combat Sports/LGBT Tour July 21 – 28 REVIEW [*Goes live July 21 00:00] INTERVIEW […]

  2. […] The Welter War D. Drache Dragao Combat Sports/LGBT Tour July 21 – 28 REVIEW [*Goes live July 21 00:00] INTERVIEW […]

Comments are closed.